Hopp til innhold Hopp til hovedmeny


About Møre and Romsdal

Møre og Romsdal is one of 19 counties in Norway

Møre and Romsdal is one of 19 counties in Norway and is located in the northern part of Western Norway. Møre and Romsdal has a coastline with a total length of 7,700 kilometres facing the Norwegian Sea, and covers an area of 15,000 square kilometres.
A quarter of a million people inhabit this beautiful and diverse county. More than half live in the southern part of the county – Sunnmøre. Sunnmøre is also home to the largest town in the county, Ålesund, with a population of more than 40,000.
Møre and Romsdal consists of 36 municipalities, which vary in size and characteristics. The smallest municipality, Stordal, has approximately 1000 inhabitants, while the largest, Ålesund, has more than 40 times that figure. It goes without saying that the challenges facing the municipalities vary a great deal.
Møre and Romsdal has, as Norway in general, a decentralized infrastructure. Here there are 4 hospitals, 4 airports and 3 university colleges.